Movie Review: Attack The Block

As some of you may recall, every year around my birthday I choose a movie that I want to see and take myself to it alone. Why alone? Because what I enjoy in a movie (EXPLODEY! BOOM! EXPLODEYBOOM! Wait, wait, need to cram a little plot in… EXPLODEYBOOM!) is not necessarily what others enjoy, and I don’t want to listen to them bitch and whine about it.

Plus, I don’t have to share the popcorn.

Fandango sent me an email last Thursday informing me that Attack the Block was finally coming to Portland theaters this weekend, and I knew I had my birthday movie all lined up. I have been waiting for Attack the Block to make it to town, since it released to limited theaters on May 11th. Why was I waiting for it?

NICK FROST. Also known as, NICK FROST.

Anyway, the whole movie isn’t about my fangirl crush. The basic premise is that aliens crash land in a London tenement on Guy Fawkes Night, and a gang of teenagers proceed to kick in the head of the aliens, with varying levels of success.

And explosions.

I really, really enjoyed it. I think you, too, might enjoy it, if you like genre films and interesting alien creature design (the movie had a total budget of $13m USD, so it’s not Avatar, but it’s one of the most unique and, in my GYAAAH! NIGHMARES! opinion, startling alien designs of the past few decades). It’s funny, it’s sad, it’s scary, and all in the right amounts. There’s a moral to the story, and it’s not “Don’t kick in the head of the alien creatures”, and it has a slightly happy ending, but not saccharine enough to make me want to punch my head in. At the end, the hoodies are still hoodies, the dealers are still dealers, and “whoop whoop” is the sound of da police.

Also Nick Frost sit on a couch and smoke pot. Enjoying that part of the movie may be unique to me.

I’m okay with that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.