Awesomeosity 101: Retraining Your Internal Monologue

Everyone has it. It’s that voice, it sounds a lot like you, and it sits in your head and talks.

The boring pop-psych term for it is Internal Monologue.

And for a lot of people, the internal monologue is nothing but negative self-talk. You know, “I’m awful. I’m worthless. I’m ugly. I suck at this. I’m a fraud. No one will love me.”

The problem, as I see it, is that this internal monologue has an annoying habit of affecting your external life.

I know. This sounds like “The Secret” style woo-woo bullpucky. Stick with me, though. Because I’ve watched this happen to too many excellent people– they are afraid of trying anything because they have this voice in the back of their head telling them they’re not worthy of awesomeness.

I’m telling you right now, you are totally awesome.
You can do awesome things.
And you have the right to stop listening to negative self-talk.

You have the right, honor, and bounden duty to tell that voice to SHUT THE FUCK UP.

It’s hard, I know. Because I’ve been there. I still find my inner monologue taking a field trip back to Worthlessville from time to time.

And when I realise that’s what’s happening, I imagine that little negative voice as a very small figurine. I mentally pick that very small figurine up by the scruff of the neck between my index finger and thumb, and I throw it through the mental wood chipper.

Because no one is going to stop me from being awesome.

Not even myself.

This entry was posted in Awesomeosity. Bookmark the permalink.