Book Review: Night of the Living Trekkies

I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

I know, a shocker! It’s got zombies, you’d think I’d love it. However, there’s a whole Jane Austin thing where she and I don’t play well together.

All of the other ‘reimaging of a classic’ books in a similar vein, I’ve kept away from. But one little Internet video changed my mind.

This one.

I watched it twice, jumped on Powells.com, and ordered a copy of Night of the Living Trekkies for myself.

The book centers around Jim, a Afghanistan veteran who has returned from two combat tours and taken a job as a ‘glorified bellhop’ at a hotel in Houston. GulfCon, the largest all-Trek convention in the South, is happening this weekend at the hotel. Jim used to be a huge fan, but he lost faith in humanity’s essential goodness and ability to work together. His sister’s coming into town for the convention, and they, along with a cast of colorful characters familiar to every person who’s ever been to a con, must survive the attack of zombie hordes.

These are your traditional slow zombies, but with a twist– the kind of twist I can’t tell you about without spoiling it. The characters are fantastically loveable, and my favorite is the red-shirted kid who goes by the nickname Willy Makit. Say it out loud a few times.

As is to be expected, there is a lot of Trek trivia in this book. I still found it very accessible, because Jim will often explain it in an offhand way, either in his mind trying to guess the costume, or to another guest or coworker. The same can’t be said for the Star Wars trivia (don’t ask, plot point, spoiler), which would often lead me to flipping back a few pages in outrage after the penny dropped.

It was a book that kept me turning pages to see the next twist. I highly recommend it if either zombies or Star Trek are even a little relevant to your interest.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.