Foodie Burnout

I think I’ve reached Foodie Burnout.

I still do my daily scroll through Tastespotting and Foodgawker, but now I find myself talking back to the comments. And it’s no longer, “Oh, that looks good!”

“It’s sugar and fucking water, how can it be the ‘best syrup ever’?”
“Hollowing out 50 strawberries for a weekend barbeque is stupid.”
“Making teriyaki sauce at home is easy, but you know what’s even easier? BUYING IT PREMADE. And it doesn’t leave you with a 3/4 full bottle of mirin you never use again.”
“You handpainted 100 individual cookies for your kid’s birthday party? Hire a sitter and get the hell out of the house.”
“Your new fucking revelation in food is MIGAS?!?! Jesus H. Christ on a sparkly pogo stick, I bet if I handed you a tamale your head would explode!”
“‘Light, yet a tad dense’– you’re not describing your food, you’re describing your brain.”

I think I need to step back from the food blogosphere for a while, before I try to gouge my eyes out with a melon baller. Food is tasty, food is nutritious, it’s fun to play with food and try new recipes, but FOR THE LOVE OF SMALL GREEN ALIEN CRITTERS, if you eat Easy Mac three meals in a row? It does not make you a bad person. Matter of fact, I might like you better because of it.

Food is serious, food is whimsical, but at the end of the day, food is the delivery system for your body’s energy needs. Doesn’t matter how pretty the presentation is when it all comes out lookin’ the same way.

Now, I’m going to make that Easy Mac streak a four.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.