Review: Cafe Yumm

Long ago in the distant past, I stumbled across a recipe for a knockoff of Yumm Sauce. Yumm Sauce is the signature sauce of Cafe Yumm!, a chain of restaurants that started a couple miles down south, in Eugene, OR, that specializes in beans-and-rice bowls. This knockoff sauce become a staple in my fridge.

Well, on June 1st they opened up a new Cafe Yumm! right at the station where I catch the Yellow Line MAX home every day. Of course I had to go right in and see how my knockoff sauce compared.

I ordered the medium Smoky Bowl. Which, when it reached my table, was a smaller portion size than I expected. Ok, whatever, it was only $5.95 ($2 extra to add chicken), moving on… Next issue I ran into? The chipotle chili was very tasty, but it clashed heavily with the citrusy-yeasty flavor of the Yumm Sauce.

Later that evening, I ran into a completely different problem, my intolerance to carrots, which I think were hiding in the chipotle chili. Someone at the table next to me had ordered the Nori Wrap, I think I’m going to try that next time, because it not only looked tasty in all its piled-up-veggie glory, it looked like a lot of fun assembling the little mini-seaweed burritos.

The staff were helpful, polite, and quick (even with a down credit card machine). This is even more impressive considering it was the first day of operations when stuff typically goes all sorts of wrong.

Overall, I think I’m going to find it very hard to not frequently swing in to Cafe Yumm for convenient food that’s also delicious.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.