My strange love affair with Jake’s Grill

Once upon a time, I took a friend to Jake’s Grill.

“There are dead things on the wall!” she said, absolutely horrified.

We ate at a table outside that day.

Jake’s Grill is not sleek. Jake’s Grill is not modern. Jake’s Grill is not on the cutting edge of modern cuisine.

Jake’s Grill is one of my favorite restaurants in all of Portland.

And I think it’s because it’s not trying to keep up with the new kids on the block. It is what it says on the tin– a classic American grill, with dark wood paneling, original tile floors, and flat-screen TVs mounted underneath a 10 point buck head.

Jake’s Grill is one of the few places I will forego my beloved beer (even though they have the usual suspects on draft) and have a mixed drink. On my most recent trip, I sipped away on a John Daly (sweet tea vodka and lemonade). Usually, I stick to classics, an Old Fashioned or a Tom Collins.

The food is good. I’m a big fan of the sandwiches section of their menu, not just because of the excellent sandwiches, but because they come with some of the house pickles, which are fantastic.

Another thing that sets Jake’s Grill apart from other restaurants in Portland is the service. The staff is always pleasant and attentive. ALWAYS. Portlanders, no, I’m not kidding. ALWAYS.

I think that more than outweighs the glassy gaze of a bear with your meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.