Of Feast Days

I don’t usually talk about religion here, because I have another, woefully neglected blog where I talk about that.

But I am. Religious, that is. And I’m also spiritual. The two are not mutually exclusive.

Anyway, for folks who follow the liturgical church calendar, today is the Feast of the Ascension. It’s a pretty big deal, up there in importance with Easter and Christmas. It’s a day where you should, if you’re into that sort of thing, go to church.

The Roman Catholics a while back decided to move, or ‘transfer’ the feast to Sunday. Which drives me bananas for boring theological reasons better suited for my religion blog than this one. It all boils down to the fact there are no RCC services I can crash to get my worship on.

I loaded up the calendars on the web pages of all 14 Episcopal churches (INCLUDING Trinity Cathedral!) and found there is one single farklemptin’ church in Portland that I can find holding an Ascension Day service today. Ascension Episcopal Church.

At noon.

Noon is when I’m sitting at my desk, phone glued to my ear, getting rush orders in to Big Ol’ Hospital. I can’t exactly take off then, especially since my backup has been out ill most of the week. It’s also way-far-out, and riding Ye Olde Trimet? It’d take me four hours there-worship-back.

This is REALLY FRUSTRATING. Grrr.

Grant, we pray, Almighty God, that as we believe your
only-begotten Son our Lord Jesus Christ to have ascended
into heaven, so we may also in heart and mind there ascend,
and with him continually dwell; who lives and reigns with
you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Feast Days

  1. KAte says:

    Sounds like you’ll have to get your worship on freestyle.

Comments are closed.