Mystery Veg Box Iron Chef — Battle Artichoke!

This isn’t an Iron Chef battle between two people.

Artichoke by Flickr user magpie-moon used under a Creative Commons 2.0 Attribution license

Artichoke by Flickr user magpie-moon used under a Creative Commons 2.0 Attribution license

No, this is an Iron Chef battle between me and vegetables. Sometimes fruits. But tonight’s battle my own self versus an artichoke. Something I’ve never eaten before. Which means I’ve also never cooked one before.

TO THE INTERNET! Where I found this helpful information on steaming an artichoke.

45 minutes later, I’m pulling the darn thing out of the pan and attacking the petals, using the Internet-approved ‘scrape with your teeth’ method. It tastes… like nothing. Every so often I get a whiff of an odor I associate with paper mills (and that’s neither a good odor nor a good association).

It’s a good conveyance for the Yummy Sauce of a couple posts back, though it’s a lot of work to convey said Yummy Sauce. I’m thinking fondly of the two bunches of romaine in the fridge and how much easier it would be to make a salad with Yummy Sauce as the dressing. And tastier.

Finally, I just give up and go straight for the heart, which the Internet (in the form of my RPG chat room) tells me is the ‘good part’. Yeah. I wasn’t feeling it. It tasted like wet paper.

I’m calling this battle. Artichoke 0, Me 1.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.