Shiny Things I Found on the Internet 1-20

+ Via BoingBoing, Glenn Reynolds believes the lesson USAdians should learn from the Haiti earthquake and other disasters is self-reliance. I agree with him, and that’s why I read the Zombie Squad forums frequently.

+The Jack Bauer Homeland Security Alert Thingie.

+ I bought Ok Go’s first CD because I loved the YouTube video they did on the treadmills. Not only are they nifty and able to choreograph for great justice on treadmills, they’re a pretty good band who makes awesome music. BoingBoing reprinted an excerpt of a letter from Damian of Ok Go about why their music label won’t let them make YouTube videos embeddable (you know, the way Here It Goes Again was and the reason they were catapulted into instant fame). Short version: Money. Anyway, you should really check out more of their stuff… like this video which features the Notre Dame marching band and gives me CAPLOCKS OF FLAILING JOY.

OK Go – This Too Shall Pass from OK Go on Vimeo.

+ Glenn Bell, Jr. died on Tuesday. He’s the guy who founded Taco Bell.

+ Movin’ Meat reviews a book about the use of checklists in intensive care and operating rooms to reduce morbidity and mortality and how they might apply in the ER. Um, I went into medical-speak, didn’t I? It’s about how checklists are not just bureaucratic nightmares, but a useful tool to keep people from dying, whether at a Big Ol’ Hospital like I work at, or a construction site, or on an aeroplane. My fear, having not read the book, just the NYT article, is that checklists can be used by suits to punish people who deviate from them for good reason (pt presents with unusual symptoms, someone puts out a fire that saves millions of dollars of equipment and sets instead of running outside like an idiot with their head cut off, et cetera)

+ If you homebrew, I’m impressed. But if you roast your own coffee at home? I’m really impressed.

+ I know I’m not cool. First time I heard about Snuggie Pub Crawls was on Leverage. Apparently Portland’s having one on January 23rd.

+ AAAAAAH! BIG SPIDER! SQUISH IT! SQUISH IT! I DON’T CARE IF IT’S A NEW SPECIES! SQUISH IT! (via The Daily Grail.)

+

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shiny Things I Found on the Internet 1-20

  1. Sorcha says:

    A friend of mine roasted her own coffee in a plain old air-popper and said it was awesome.

Comments are closed.