Remember when this was a food blog?

…Yeah, me neither.

Anyway, I stumbled across a blog today I wanted to share. It’s called Budget Bytes and it has pretty food pictures, a good mix of easy-to-middlin’ hard recipies, lots of fresh veggies, and a price breakdown for each recipe, total and per serving.

And I think I’m going to print out this article on the cost of basic pantry stocking and keep it in my wallet to hand to people whenever they whine about not cooking at home because it’s too expensive to start.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember when this was a food blog?

  1. Beth M says:

    thanks for the shout out! …and i hope you DO shove that in the faces of people who complain about it costing too much to cook (they’re really just covering their insecurity about possibly failing at it). you can easily spend in one week on eating out what it costs to stock a pantry.

  2. KAte says:

    So far we’ve made the pumpkin soup, coconut rice and pumpkin oatmeal.
    All of them are delicious! My one recommendation if you try the soup is to use a little less water than called for (it was tasty but a little thin.)

    Other suggestions include, possibly make the soup with coconut milk instead of water for more sweatness and thickness? Definitely put the rice into the soup, them spread on toasted sourdough, yummmm!

    I have had pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast three days in a row and I’m not tired of it yet. So tasty, and super fast. We made it with quick cooking because safeway didn’t have steel cut and it was too late for any other stores to be open. But it was still tasty.

Comments are closed.