Rollover Lunch: Chicken with Green Beans

Every night, the Kingdom of Loathing game goes down for maintenance for half an hour.

On Sunday nights, Rollover is usually the time I realise that I went to Sckavone’s for an early dinner and had a very tasty meatloaf sandwich, and there’s no leftovers, and I REALLY need to be back at my desk by 9pm because I REALLY want to level my character tonight.

A Rollover Lunch, therefore, is something that can be cooked and boxed in under 30 minutes.

Chicken with Green Beans

0m put a medium sized pan on the stove, turn the heat to medium high.

1m put a chicken thigh in the pan, spread it out so it’s as flat as it can go, then cover with a lid or a heat-proof plate.

1m 30 wash and perforate a russet potato, stick in microwave for 6 minutes.

2m pull out the container you’re schlepping your food to work in, and start snapping the ends off the green beans, then snap them into bite-sized pieces.

5m flip the chicken over and recover. This is where I add seasoning (salt, oregano, et cetera)

7m add a quarter teaspoon of garlic and a drizzle of olive oil to the green beans in the container. Cover and shake, then remove cover and place near stove.

9m remove potato from microwave, wrap in tinfoil, stick in fridge.

10m put chicken on top of green beans in container, cover and place in fridge.

Tomorrow at work I’ll nuke the chicken/green bean container for two minutes with the lid on, which will steam the green beans to a nice al dente finish.

I’ll also eat the potato cold. Because I like them like that. I know I’m odd.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.