Labels, et cetera

I’m going to try and articulate something here, and I’ll probably not say it well, so bear with me.

I’m part Mexican, part white. Which means that I’ve got two different sets of cultural lenses I see through, and sometimes those two cultural lenses give conflicting messages. It’s confusing to me, too. Dude, seriously, when I’m excited should I be shouting and jumping, or should I be smiling and shaking hands? And let’s not get into the cultural differences inherent in flirting, yo.

Sometimes people want to shove me into one side or the other. “You’re Mexican, you can’t be white.” “You’re white, you can’t be Mexican.”

Puh-lease. You can’t go in and sort me out into component parts.

I am. You, deal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.