Mental Note

Things that are good in Cheeseburger Casserole:
1) Chickpeas
2) Tomatoes
3) Cheese
4) Burger
5) Noodles

Things that are not good in Cheeseburger Casserole:
1) Raw kale

Things to do next time I make Cheeseburger Casserole:
1) Make sure the feckin’ kale is cooked before you stick it in the oven.

One of the nice things about having cooked so much is that I will look at a recipe and go, “Well, that’s nice and all, but if I do THIS and THIS, I’ll like it BETTER!” I did that with The Sweet Life’s Cheeseburger Casserole recipe. Thanks to a fairly well loaded fridge, the only thing I had to cook was the noodles. After they were done, I dumped a bunch of stuff into the pot, including a handful of chickpeas, a tin of diced tomatoes, and chopped raw kale, and mixed. Tossed it into the oven for 10 minutes, called it done, and stuffed it in the fridge for lunches for the first part of the week.

I took a photo of my Cheeseburger Casserole, fresh out of the oven, and it’s so pretty, with the red and green and the noodles and the cheese… but my buddy is currently using the jump drive to upload photos to something he calls “Project Big”.

Don’t ask. Seriously. Do. Not. Ask. Because if you ask, I will have to tell you, and then when I tell you you will not be able to unlearn it. No one’s invented brain bleach yet.

Anyway, the casserole came with me to work yesterday, and I nuked it for 2 minutes on high. It’s good. It would be a lot better if I wasn’t constantly getting the funky texture of raw kale in the middle of my squishy oozy gooey casserole, but you live and learn.

Tonight I’m making more cornbread and the Snobby Joes recipe. Sans maple syrup. It still tastes good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.