Why Some People Can’t Put Two and Two Together

That’s the title of this article in New Scientist. It’s all about dyscalculia, which is a learning disorder.

Excerpty!

Last November, Jill got herself screened for learning disabilities. She found that while her IQ is above average, her numerical ability is equivalent to that of an 11-year-old because she has something called dyscalculia. The diagnosis came partly as a relief, because it explained a lot of difficulties she had in her day-to-day life. She can’t easily read a traditional, analogue clock, for example, and always arrives 20 minutes early for fear of being late. When it comes to paying in shops or restaurants, she hands her wallet to a friend and asks them to do the calculation, knowing that she is likely to get it wrong.

About seven years ago, I learned I was dyscalcic. For those of you who CAN do math, I was 22 years old and had a B.A., and the only reason I passed my math requirement with a D- was the instructor took pity on me.

Wait, wait, more excerpty!

A report published in October 2008 by the British government claimed that dyscalculia cuts a pupil’s chances of obtaining good exam results at age 16 by a factor of 7 or more, and wipes more than £100,000 from their lifetime earnings. Early diagnosis and remedial teaching could help them avoid these pitfalls.

Uhm, I’m still recovering from one helluva weekend, so her I really don’t have much in the way of logic and crap, so just go read the article.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Some People Can’t Put Two and Two Together

  1. tykke says:

    You should check out http://www.dyscalculiaforum.com – lots of people to talk to 🙂

  2. kirsten says:

    waves
    fellow sufferer here, i passed Chem (memorized tables, shudder) by the grace of the teacher.. also with a D-.
    its awful, especially when (back in the dark ages of my school years) my mom kept TRYING to find out what was wrong with me, but getting told “she reads well, so she CAN’T be learning disabled….
    sigh

Comments are closed.