[Finances] Those mega-annoying “Save a Dollar A Day!” posts and why I hate them.

Cribbing the list that Dawn C. has posted over at Queercents right now. Ok, just the middle section, because it was taking too long.

Adding to what you already do:
9. Round up in your checkbook to the next dollar amount – bank the extra money at the end of the month
What the hell is a checkbook? Who accepts checks any more?
10. Use coupons and consider them money – every coupon used (or doubled) means you put that amount away
When you’re buying beans and rice, they don’t offer many coupons
11. Find more and don’t spend rebate checks, cash back refunds, etc
I don’t know when the last time I bought something that had a rebate was. I mean, again, I don’t buy things like TVs or cell phones, and again, beans and rice rarely comes with a rebate offer
12. Found money in washer/street gets saved
Think hard. When was the last time you found even a penny in the street?
13. Borrow from the library when the urge to buy comes up – put that money away
Ok, this one is all my fault, but I’ve got several hundred dollars in fines at the library. Stop looking at me like that.
14. Bring lunch to work- calculate what you normally spend on lunch and save that amount
I’ve been bringing my lunch to work for about, oh, 10 years? I allow myself to eat out for lunch once a week because otherwise I would probably just fling my beans and rice at someone’s head.
15. Buy generic and save the difference – keep a pen and paper with you to figure the savings
I buy bulk. It’s like generic except you don’t have to throw away boxes.
16. Check around to make sure you are getting the best deal for insurance – the difference goes into savings
17. Call credit card companies to get a lower interest rate – calculate the saving for the lower interest rate based on what you owe, divide by 12 and put that amount away each month
Don’t have a credit card.
18. Write checks for over the amount instead of paying bank fees
Again with the checks.
19. Rent a movie instead of going to the theater and put the difference into savings
Renting a movie: $3.99. Going to the Bagdad Theater: $3.00.
20. Stop off at the thrift store to find what you need before spending money at the department store
De-part-ment store? What’s that?
21. Sit down and do a budget- find out how much is going out from what is coming in and cut back on the areas that you are spending to much
Um, yes. Did dang done.

I think the problem is this list (and the forty eleven dozen others like it that are appearing all over the blogverse as we reach January 1st) is aimed at the newbs to personal finance. And then there’s a wide swatch of blogs aimed at people who make a lot more money than I do and have a lot less student loan debt (for those of you who don’t remember, my student loan payments are 39% of my take-home pay, and my rent, church tithe, and something else I can’t remember off the top of my head is 35% of my take-home pay).

I need something in between, people!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.