[Finances] Bidding War for Your Money

HT to Joe who pointed out this nifty little site: MoneyAisle.com. You tell them how much you want to put in a high-interest savings or a CD, and they have small and mid-sized banks all over the country tussle it out to offer you the best interest rate.

As most of you know, I use INGDirect for most of my banking. I have 14 seperate high-interest savings accounts, each one earmarked for a specific budget line (my Sonic Screwdriver Random Acts of Fangirl account is currently at $0.08, but my Travel account is really ridiculously close to $500– Florida, here I come!). I also open a new short-term CD every pay period and I’m using that money as my emergency fund. I’ve got 17 of them.

I fooled around with the numbers a bit, and for like, way higher dollar values than my measly $50, the interest rates sometimes come back better than INGDirect.

Any way you slice it, it’s worth a look.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.