[Finances] Why I Don’t Talk About The Stock Market in the Fangirl Financial Plan

First of all, if you’re looking for stock tips and investing advice, WHY THE HELL ARE YOU TRUSTING TOTAL RANDOM STRANGERS ON THE INTERNET?!? Get a licensed financial planner, yo.

The reason I don’t talk about investments as part of the Fangirl Financial Plan is because investing, at this stage of my life, is not part of the Fangirl Financial Plan.

Why? Because I’m focusing on paying down my crippling student loan debt first.

And there’s another reason: I learned to count playing blackjack and poker with my family for pennies. My dad always told me, “Do not gamble money you can’t afford to lose.”

I also grew up watching the Nightly Business Report on PBS, every night at 5pm. My dad told me, “The stock market is just another form of gambling.”

Oh, I go to Vegas. I love Vegas. I think I might try to go back next year (well, either Vegas or end once and for all my fascination with Utah and actually, you know, visit Salt Lake City). When I’m in Vegas, I’m watching all the free shows and going to buffets with ziploc baggies in my purse. Yes, I’m one of those people. No, I’m not ashamed of it.

My financial goals for the next five years focus primarily on paying off debt. After that’s done, I’m going to be reevaluating my entire life, including whether or not I want to be chained to a desk and working for a salary. Until then, I need every dime working for me by paying off my debt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [Finances] Why I Don’t Talk About The Stock Market in the Fangirl Financial Plan

  1. Sounds smart. Debt is overrated.

Comments are closed.