[Food] Singular Cooking

Anne at Elastic Waist posted an article from the Washington Post about how to scale down recipes when you’re cooking for only one person.

Yeah, I don’t really do that. I usually cook for four, so I have dinner, I have lunch for the next day, and then I dish up two more servings into individual plastic containers and stuff them in the freezer for when I get lazy.

Since it’s me we’re talking about, I tend to get lazy, oh, you know, the very next night. So there’s not as much “OMG, how old is that?!” really going on with leftovers in my fridge or freezer. Although the reason the leftovers go right into the freezer is to keep them from becoming WMOMGs*.

I’m reading the WP article, and I’m saying to myself, “Yep, this is good and useful information to someone who isn’t serially single like me and is having to learn to cook for themselves and themselves only”, until I hit this bit:

A six-inch pan is just right for one piece of meat, [James] Peterson says. But Jane Doerfer, author of “Going Solo in the Kitchen,” says such sizes are often too small to be generally useful. For basic cooking, Doerfer recommends three pots for solo cooks: a two-quart Dutch oven with a lid, an 8 1/2 -inch skillet and a 9 1/2 -inch oval gratin baking dish.

No, pumpkin, no. You cannot fit a whole chicken in a two-quart Dutch Oven. And a gratin baking dish has sides that are too low. Bad WP! BAD! No cake.

The 8.5inch skillet I am down with. But I’d get a 3qt Dutch Oven, and a glass 8 inch square baking dish. 3qt for the aforementioned chicken (it’s September! It’s chicken poaching season! Poached chicken freezes liek woah for future use!) and the 8 inch baking dish is the perfect size for brownies, cakes, enchiladas, chile rellenos, and mac’n’cheese.

When you reached the Advanced Class of Singular Cooking, and you’re into carmelizing onions, get a stainless steel wok.

*That would be Weapons of Mass OMGs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [Food] Singular Cooking

  1. krauseman says:

    totally agreed on the Dutch ovens. I cook only for myself, yet I’ve got a 5 qt, along with a 5 qt hotpot, and they both see regular use at mostly full capacity. My 10.5 inch cast iron skillet get’s plenty of love, though it could be a bit smaller, and I wouldn’t mind.

    I ❤ my carbon steel wok. I </3 my kitchen that is too small to let me cook Chinese. I can’t wait until my lease is up in April.

Comments are closed.