Things I Learned Last Night Attempting Indian Food, part 1

Monday nights have become “Attempt to Cook Indian Food Night” in my house. Here’s what I learned this week.

  • Even if my grandfather was raised in India*, that means naught-all in my ability to cook Indian food. 
  • Must. Steal. Grandpa’s. Chutney. Recipe. No internet ones have come close.
  • Yogurt cheese tastes like yogurt. I don’t know why I expected anything different. It also is pretty awesome mixed with dal.
  • If you have no cheesecloth, a scrap of old t-shirt works fantastically.
  • Before beginning dal, ensure bedroom doors are closed and fans are placed strategically to immediately draw cooking smells out of the house through as few rooms as possible. 
  • Cook onions on medium heat. DO NOT TURN UP. Learn patience.
  • They’re called ‘popping seeds’ for a reason. Get a pot lid handy. And they  burn instantly on high heat. 
  • Burnt popping seeds taste okay. 
  • Coriander seeds are frickin’ AWESOME. They’re like tiny crunchy lemons. 
*Yes, my grandfather is white. He also has absolutely nothing to do with my genetics. HA! Wrap your head around THAT one!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I Learned Last Night Attempting Indian Food, part 1

  1. Mallika says:

    Hey I grew up in India and for a LONG time this meant naught all about my abilities to cook. That chutney recipe sounds very intriguing.

  2. Yeah, but once you get the chutney recipe, are you going to spill it? You can’t just leave us out in the cold!!!

Comments are closed.