Chickpea Pantry Pasta

Sos, yesterday I was reading CookThink, and they were talking about Chickpea Pantry Pasta.

Since my dinner the night before had been garlic mashed potatoes with corn and black beans mixed in, you know it’s getting on towards the end of the week, and I’ve got to eat what’s in the pantry.

So I take a look-see at the ingredient list.

kosher salt
1 pound linguine
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan

Wahey, I’ve got all of that! NEW RECIPE TO TRY OUT! YAY ME!

Ran home and cooked this up. I did make a few changes: I didn’t have linguine, just a mixed bag of rotelli and penne; I added garlic and onion, and I substituted one of the tablespoons of oil for a tablespoon of butter, ’cause someone on the Food Network taught me that olive oil has a lower burn temperature than butter, so you mix the two to keep it from getting yucky.

Word of warning: Chickpeas, when fried, will pop like popcorn. It’s kinda cool, but if you don’t want to get smacked in the head by a rouge chickpea, I suggest putting a lid on your frypan.

I got home at 5.15. I was eating by 5.35. I was eyeing the part I’d put aside for tomorrow’s lunch by 6.12 and trying to figure out if I had any cheese left for a cheese sammich substitute lunch. As Honeybones pointed out, of COURSE it tastes good, it’s got a half-cup of CHEESE in it!

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chickpea Pantry Pasta

  1. Chip says:

    Mary Sue: Glad that all worked out. Amazing what cheese can do, huh? I could eat chickpeas for every meal. One day, I may try.

Comments are closed.