Never tell your boss you’re macerating in the kitchenette.

Seriously. You have to explain yourself and he winds up giggling and making you say ‘macerate’ over and over to other people. I just wanted some sweetened blackberries for my Greek yogurt, damnit!

Anyway, HI! Feliz Dias de los Muertos! Has to be my favorite time of the year, because it involves food, church, and skeletons everywhere!

 Let’s deconstruct the Spanish:

Dias – days, as in at least three and depending on where you’re from, up to eight.

de los – of the

Muertos – Dead. As in, dead means dead, ghosts, spirits, cemetaries, et cetera.

I could get on my moral high horse and say how much this holiday rocks and counters the modern “omg death yucky keep it far away!” thing, but this is a food blog, so– FOOD!

Alas, I’m flying out to Washington, DC tomorrow, so I actually haven’t cooked any of this food. *cries*

There are hundreds of bazillions of recipes for pan de muertos, but the one I’ve had the best results with is this one.

But pan de muertos is boring! EVERYONE makes that! Here’s something you won’t hardly never see, recipe from here:

Calabeza en Tacha

1 4 to 5 lb pumpkin
8 cinnamon sticks
Juice of 1 Orange
4 cups water
2 lbs brown sugar or raw sugar

Cut the pumpkin into 3″ squares. Remove seeds and strings. With a sharp knife make diamond designs over the pulp.

Put the sugar in a pan with the cinnamon, orange juice, and water. Bring to a boil and stir until the sugar has dissolved.

Place the first layer of pumpkin pieces skin side up in the pan. Place the second layer pulp side up. Repeat as necessary. Cover and simmer. The pumpkin pieces are done when they look golden brown and the pulp is soft.


In other news, tonight at midnight kicks off anotherNational Novel Writing Month. This will be my fifth year, and damn it, I WILL WIN THIS YEAR OR ELSE! So, expect more posts about fish sticks and frozen fish sticks (and possibly Pok Pok, because I discovered quite by accident walking to its location on Division and back to my house is exactly one mile).

This entry was posted in 1337 skillz, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.