How To Make Fake Cojito Cheese

I’ve noticed over the last few weeks that people keep coming here from search engines to find out about cojito cheese.

 It’s cheese. It’s white. It crumbles. It has little to no flavor. The end.

It’s also a bitch to find if you don’t have a large Hispanic population around. So, this is something I discovered quite by accident, and if you’re the kind of food blogger who goes into vapors easily over ‘improper’ foods, best look away now.

How To Make Fake Cojito Cheese

1. Obtain a brick of Monterey Jack cheese. Which is Hispanic in and of itself, because, hey, Monterey is in Mexico!

2. Put brick in a large ziploc bag (I use a gallon sized bag for 1 lb of cheese), squeeze out all the excess air, and place in freezer for at least 24 hours. You wanna make sure that bad boy is froze solid.

3. Remove brick from freezer and place in refrigerator to thaw. This usually takes about a day or so.

4. Open the bag and let some air in, then seal it back up tight.

5. Grab the brick in both hands, imagine it’s your little sister’s arm, and perform a rattlesnake bite, twisting both hands in opposite directions. The cheese should crumble into a billion wee pieces, although some additional smooshing might be needed.

I do this with all sorts of cheese. I really, really like the texture of the crumblies, and I think they’re neater than shredded.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To Make Fake Cojito Cheese

  1. michelle says:

    Huh.

    I am completely intrigued by this (and I have absolutely no vapors when it comes to cheese tricks). I think I will definitely try your Cojito technique for tacos next time I make some! Usually, I just fake it with really mild feta. This sounds much more fun.

    Thanks!

  2. debra says:

    Thank you for the Colita cheese info. I really don’t want to drive all over town trying to find it. I live in L.A. (which used to be Mexico). I used to buy it 30 yrs. ago but it was pulled off the shelves. The cheese is made in Mexico and people in Calif. were reporting illness and death from eating it. They probably make it here now. I’m going to make El Torito’s Cilantro Pepita salad dressing. I’m going to use Mont. Jack per your suggestion. It sounds much safer.

Comments are closed.