Buffalo Chili

Fred Meyers has buffalo meat. My mind is blown.

Buffalo Chili
Feeds 4

1 lb. buffalo stew meat
3 T olive oil
1 can tomato paste
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
1 can garbanzo beans, drained
1 can kidney beans, drained
3 cloves smooshed garlic
Chili powder* to taste
1 bottle dark beer (I used Sierra Nevada Brown Ale)

Heat oil in a 3 quart pot. Dump in the meat and braise it for a couple minutes. Dump in the tomato paste, the beans, the garlic, and just enough beer to cover it all. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat, cover the pot and simmer for between 20 minutes to an hour (basically, at 20 minutes I spoon out enough for dinner and go ahead and let the rest cook another 40 minutes).

And now, I’m going to let you in on my super sauce-thickening secret: if it’s not thick enough, use pulverized TVP (textured vegetable protein; mush it in a mortar or whirl it in a blender for a few seconds).

Chili Powder
Oh, sure, you can use the premixed crap in the store, but what fun is that?

1/2 c cayenne pepper
1/4 c ground mustard
3 T ground black pepper
3 T garlic powder
2 T dehydrated onion flakes
1 T salt

Mix in a jar and use as much as needed when needed. Also good for making spicy cheesey bread.

This entry was posted in 1337 skillz, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buffalo Chili

  1. Yummy. I love me the buffalo – I’ve had some ground buffalo from Freddy Meyer’s (I think you’re hitting the one on Interstate) but never a whole(ish) cut. I was spying that stew meat the other week to try it in carne adovada.

    TVT – is that like Marmite/vegemite? Are are use talking about a Morningstar patty?

Comments are closed.