You Come Over, We’ll Go Eat

This is intended as a list of my own, personal recommendations. These are the places I take people when they come over, or I go myself when I’ve got a crave on for food I didn’t cook and dishes I don’t have to wash. I’m not a critic, I just knows what I likes. Skewed heavily to North Portland, ’cause I live there.

Places for someone’s first visit to Portland

Mcmenamin’s Kennedy School: Because it’s always a crowd pleaser.

Voodoo Doughnut – Fruit Loop doughnuts are the BEST!

Quick and Tasty

Por Que No Taqueria – I have them on speed dial in my phone, and anyone who says this isn’t real Mexican food is a big fat gringo.

Kids in Tow

The 5th Quadrant – Pub grub done right.

Drinkies and Snackies

The Florida Room – Best tater tots ever.

Fire on the Mountain – HOT WINGS! YAY!

Portland Do Love Its Brunch

Roux – Brunch is only served on Sundays, since the pancakes are a religious experience.

Doug Fir – French toast that defies gravity.

Equinox – Food and service is better than Gravy around the corner, and you don’t have to put up with the annoying hipsters and the insane wait times.

COFFEE!COFFEE!COFFEE!

Albina Press – A little pretention with your mind-blowingly good latte?

Blue Gardenia – Straight-up best coffee in town.

This entry was posted in Portland OR, recommendations, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.