Crock Pot Mashed Potatoes / Colcannon

Can you tell I love my new crock pot? It’s fantastic!

I made colcannon (which is mashed potatoes with greens mixed in) in the crock pot on Monday night. Because I wanted mashed potatoes and I like kale.

Then I realised that at this time of year, space on the stove is limited, and this might be helpful for people who are in a frenzy about prepping food.

Crock Pot Mashed Potatoes / Colcannon

Recipe sized for a 3qt crock pot
Serves a lot of people, or one woman who wants mashed potatoes at every meal for the next week or so.

Wash about 4lbs of potatoes and roughly cut into pieces of approximately equal thickness. Peel them if you’re a wierdo who hates potato skin. Pile into the crock pot. Add 1 cup of your favorite cooking liquid (I used chicken broth because I had some around, usually I make mashed potatoes with water or milk). Throw in a couple of smashed garlic cloves if you’re feeling feisty.

Turn crock pot to high and let it do its thing for about two hours.

Turn crock pot off and unplug it, then throw in 1 stick of butter. Cackle like Paula Deen, ’cause we are not messing around. If you have a hand masher, go to town now. If you’re going to use a mixer, I highly recommend removing the potato-broth-butter mass to a bowl you know won’t be destroyed by the mixer.

To turn this mass of starchy lovelyness into colcannon, stir in 2c of your favorite chopped green. The residual heat from the potatoes will cook it up nicely. Add salt and pepper to taste.

REMEMBER– if you’re going to be serving this with gravy, add less salt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.