Sckavone’s

I am not only the Worst. Food Blogger. Ever., I’m the Worst. Food Photographer. Ever.

 Want proof? This is the best meatloaf I’ve had in a long, long time.

Meatloaf - Sckavone's

Sckavone’s was a drug store, 30 years ago. Which I figured out from the photos on the walls, even before I went and read the Willy Week review. The soda spouts sharing counterspace at the full bar with Deschutes taps was a clue, too.

Anyway, I took two meals at Sckavone’s this weekend. Which was in no way affected by the fact that its 41st and Division address is a mere five blocks from my house. Nope. Not at all.

Both times, when I walked in, someone told me to “find a seat anywhere”. Willy Week thought that was a sign of bad service. It actually made me feel more comfortable, as I’m not really a linen-napkin-good-crystal-bowing-and-scraping-maitre’d kind of gal.

The coffee is Tully’s, and since I like Tully’s, I was a happy camper (especially since the sugar comes in those huuuge containers and you pour to taste. Lord Vader wants her alive. Set sugar blasters to stun!) Cream is provided by the waitstaff going to the bar and bringing you a wee pitcher, and top-offs were timely (i.e. when my cup was actually empty instead of every time I take a sip– that annoys me to no end).

The food is heavy on the comfort end of the scale, and I took a long time to decide on my food because I couldn’t decide between favorites. A 1/2 lb hamburger or a patty melt? Corned beef hash or something I couldn’t pronounce that had potatoes, sausage, peppers, onions, olives, cheese, and some scrambled eggs on top, with a side of toast?

Both times I ate there, my bill came out to under $10, including coffee, and I left with my belly comfortably full (and promptly went home and slept on the couch, I was feeling kind of headcold-y and cranky).

They have a late night menu and breakfast is served until 2pm, seven days a week. And you may see myself or housemates Basement1, Upstairs2 and MainFloor1 there, as all of us are in agreement that Skavone’s is really, really, REALLY good.

And has quite attractive waitstaff. *nods*


Basement1 demanded that I take a photo of his tuna melt. And I did. And I told him I was putting it on the Internet. And I did. Ta Dah!
In the Kitchen

This entry was posted in Portland OR, recommendations, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sckavone’s

  1. Wolfram says:

    Who’s Skeletor-looking mug is that?

  2. Mary (Sue) says:

    The uber-cool mug belongs to MainFloor1.

Comments are closed.